A globalised classroom

Here I am in the UK, and I thought that I’d have an English experience. But instead I’m having an extraordinary multicultural experience. I’m amid a group of classmates from more than 25 countries–learning, sharing and being a part of a gloablised classroom.

The nationalities are diverse as it could get. If you bring in a kid from primary school, my class could be a good place to get their geography right. Let me give you a tour and list some, if not all, of the countries that the j-class represents:  the United State, Italy, Germany, Sweden, Spain, Switzerland, the Netherlands, Nigeria, Somalia, Romania, Russia, Egypt, Yemen, Saudi Arabia, Palestine, South Korea, New Zealand, Brazil, and India and China, of course. Oh, sorry, I forgot my classmates from the UK, who are a minority in the class of 40 plus.

With a diverse and an international background, I think most of us bring in a new cultural experience to the class. Every day we talk, and though we all communicate in English, it’s a combination of different accents echoing through the class and hallways. But inquisitive and curious minds in the multicultural classroom, we don’t limit ourselves to English. I’ve tried to learn some Spanish, a tiny bit of Italian and a little Korean.

Stereotyping and debunking them is another fun part of being in such a diverse class from all around the globe. Sometimes a lot of stereotypes are true. The hand gesture of the Italians, the loudness of the Americans and then the famous peace sign that the Koreans love, well, I am not going to say that they’re just stereotypes. And though we make fun of them all, we appreciate them as well.

As we sit, walk, talk, there is always an international angle to everything–news, views, ideas, food, drinks…

Three months into the course and I feel that I’m not doing the coursework required but also having a chance to learn multiculturalism 101. By the time I leave, I’ll certainly have more knowledge about the world and definitely I’ll have friends in every continent. But for now, we’re a class that represents a globalised world.

 

2 thoughts on “A globalised classroom

  1. […] amazing to have friends from more than 20 countries in one class. Well, I have blogged about the globalized classroom if you guys haven’t checked […]

  2. certom says:

    just read this… now tell us what has changed, after 6 months 🙂

Leave a Reply

